2024: New Music

A modified photo of me stood by Runcorn Bridge

Happy New Year everyone!

I’m excited to announce new music for 2024, coming this way soon. I can’t be sure about exact dates as of yet, but we will let you know as soon as possible. As usual, all albums will be available via independent record shops, online and on Bandcamp via the incredible Castles In Space.

As usual, you can expect to see me out on the road performing some of these tracks.

The Single – April

Due on Friday 26 April, A Shared Sense Of Purpose is the first track on the album, and the single will be available in 7″ and 12″ formats. Both formats will include an exclusive remix from the Godfather of New Town Synth, Mr Vince Clarke. (If you haven’t already bought Songs Of Silence you really should!)

The 7″ single will contain the tracks A Shared Sense Of Purpose (single edit) and A Shared Sense Of Purpose (Vince Clarke remix). The 7″ will sold on a purple and cream vortex swirl vinyl.

The 12″ single will have A Shared Sense Of Purpose (album version), A Shared Sense Of Purpose (Vince Clarke remix) and two exclusive tracks; Oakwood and A Shared Sense Of Purpose (1973 version). The 12″ will come on baby pink vinyl.

The Album – May

Two weeks after the single, on Friday 24 May, will come the full album, Your Community Hub. Inspired by the community centres that helped transform Runcorn into a five-minute city, decades before the current discussion around fifteen-minute cities.

The tracklisting is:

  • A Shared Sense Of Purpose
  • Rapid Transport Links
  • Cul-de-Sac
  • Summer All Year Round
  • Facilities For All Ages
  • Pedestrian Shopping Deck
  • A New Town With An Old Sense Of Community

The album will be available in mid-April, and will come on solid purple, white with purple splatter, and black with purple splatter vinyl editions. It will also come on CD, as well as digital and streaming formats. It’ll be Castles In Space’s biggest ever release, after the unprecedented demand for The Nation’s Most Central Location.

The EP – October

Coming later in the year will be the Overspill Estates EP. So called because these four tracks were for such a long time part of the tracklisting for Your Community Hub album, but were squeezed out by late additions.

Those four tracks are The People Of The Town, All Mod Cons, Green Open Spaces and All You Need In Five Minutes Brisk Walk.

This will be available on 12″ vinyl, CD and digital. Colour variants yet to be decided.